Tissue Paper Pumpkins

Holidays are all about people coming together, and one of my favorite parts of decorating is sharing ideas with other people.  I got the idea for this project from a total stranger in Walmart!  Thank you!

Inspiration

While browsing Pinterest (again) for decorating ideas, I came across a site that has 50 (count ‘em) pumpkin crafts – basically 50 different ways to make pumpkins out of things that are not pumpkins.  This one was my favorite:

(Source)

 

This project uses fabric to create the look of a pumpkin.  It’s a fairly inexpensive project (if you can find large quilting squares for a good price), but while I was looking for fabric squares at Walmart and telling my mom about this project, a lady in the same aisle said she’d seen the same craft done with tissue paper – much cheaper!  I thanked her and switched gears.  Thanks to her, I was able to recreate this craft for free.

 

Process

For each pumpkin, you will need:

- 1 roll of toilet paper (the larger the better)

- 1 sheet of orange tissue paper

- green tissue paper

- brown paper (a brown paper bag works)

- Scotch or double-stick tape

 

My mom supplied the orange tissue paper (she’s a schoolteacher so there is lots of tissue paper at her school) and brown paper bag, but I already had the rest of the supplies.  You might have everything you need lying around your house, especially if you are the kind of person who saves tissue paper after opening presents.

 

Step 1. Fold your tissue paper in half and place the toilet paper in the center.

 

 

Step 2.  Fold one corner of the tissue paper up and stuff the end into the toilet paper tube, keeping the tissue paper as close to the toilet paper as possible.

 

 

Step 3.  Tuck an adjacent corner into the tube the same way, folding excess paper underneath to hide it.

 

 

 

Step 4.  Fold in a third side, leaving one corner.

 

 

Step 5. Fold in the last corner.  Remember to tuck all the excess paper underneath your folds so it doesn’t stick out.

 

 

Step 6.  Cut a large strip of brown paper – about the same size as copy paper is plenty – and fold it in half lengthwise.

 

Step 7.  Roll the paper into a cylinder.

 

 

Step 8. Twist the tube like you’re wringing out a washcloth.

 

 

Step 9.  Stuff the brown paper into the center of your pumpkin.  The excess tissue paper will make the hole small enough to hold your “stem” in place.

 

 

Step 10.  Cut out a leaf shape in green tissue paper.  I tried this freehand and it was awful, so since I didn’t have a leaf pattern with me, I traced the shape of a leaf from one of my silk flower arrangements.  If you want to use my pattern, click on the picture below to view it larger, then right-click it and save.

 

 

Step 11. Tape the leaf onto the pumpkin.  Ta-da!

 

 

I made three pumpkins using two  shades of orange tissue paper.  Since I wanted all three pumpkins to look a little different, I put polka-dots on one sheet.  You can fancy up your tissue paper by adding a design of your own.

 

 

In other news, I’ve been taking pictures with my almost 3-year-old cell phone, which is not what it used to be.  I’d use my camera, but it’s twice as old and takes pictures twice as slowly.  Maybe someday I’ll have a new camera; until then, bear with me. ^_^

Leave a Reply

