Burlap Summer Wreath

I make a lot of wreaths . . .  But I wanted something for summer that I could put up after the 4th of July, and I’ve been wanting to try a burlap wreath, so there you go.

 

So, the key factor here is that I had virtually no idea how you’re supposed to make a burlap wreath.  I don’t know if I did mine the “right” way or not, but I like how it turned out so I guess that’s all that matters.

 

Here is what I started with:

 

 

I should start writing the cost of each item and taking a picture of that because I can’t remember exactly how much these were.  I know the burlap was the more expensive item, $5 or $6, and I think the wreath frame was under $3.  I got both in Walmart in the same aisle as flowers and wreath supplies.

 

 

 

To loop the burlap, I just went through every other space.  I think maybe you’re supposed to loop the burlap through the innermost and outermost slots to get bigger loops, but like I said, I really don’t know.

 

 

Each time I looped the burlap through the slots, I adjusted the material to make it loopy.

.

 

 

Then I alternated which slots I went through  (that is, if I went over-under-over-under on one pass, I went under-over-under-over right next to it).

 

Again, after pulling the burlap through, I fluffed it up.

 

 

I ended up doing three “rows” of burlap for each section of the wreath (counting the space between the cross pieces as a section).

 

 

Then I just kept going, not really sure if I was going to like the result or not (I think the loops are supposed to be bigger and fluffier than what I did), until I ended up with this:

 

 

There was only a little bit of burlap left so I tied it into a huge bow and made that the top of the wreath.

 

 

 

 

This is how mine looked up close.

 

Finally, I went to the Dollar Tree and bought five bunches of flowers.  I love the dark centers of the daisies.

 

 

 

 

 

I just stuck the flowers right into the burlap.  Eventually I will probably hot glue them to make them more permanent.

 

 

I think it’s pretty good for not knowing what I was doing!    I’ll leave it up until it’s time to change to fall decor . . . such a bittersweet thought.  Summer has gone by way too fast!

Leave a Reply

